Our Mission

Staff & Board Members

2019 Sponsors

Our Mission & Vision

Youth Connections enhances the quality of life for youth and their families in our communities. 

Youth Connections strives to be the premier agency advocating for youth and their families in Johnson, Morgan, and Brown counties. We provide dynamic programs and services that promote family support and positive youth development. We achieve our goals through a highly knowledgeable talented staff, a visionary board and outstanding community partnerships. We want the community to believe in Youth Connections and invest in our future.

Our Core Roles

Youth Connections believes that every young person deserves: A healthy start, caring mentors and parents, marketable skills and to have the opportunity to serve. We help youth and families meet their emotional, physical and psychological needs. Youth Connections is a youth service bureau and as such YSB programming is defined in Indiana state statute and includes four core roles: Juvenile delinquency prevention, information and referral services, community education and advocacy for youth

Our Diversity Statement

Youth Connections recognizes the importance of respecting people, valuing differences, and managing diversity. It is our responsibility to enable (individually and collectively) the potential of all employees by creating a work environment supportive of the unique talents, skills, and abilities each has to offer in meeting the needs of the individuals, customers and donors we serve in the community.

Recruitment and advertising for staff positions shall include a public notification process that encourages applications from a diverse population. Applicants will complete an employment application form that is supplemented by interviews, references and other information. All interviewed applicants will be notified of employment decisions.

Meet Our Staff & Board Members

Shana Gilbert

Executive Director
Phone: 317-738-3273 ext. 103

Judith Olds

Director of Community Relations
Phone: 317-738-3273 ext.101

Jamie Perry

Director of Court- Ordered Services
Phone: 317-738-3273 ext.101

Dawn Laplante

 Director of Program Services
Phone: 317-738-3273 ext. 104

Executive Committee

President: Kim Shell – Educator retired

Vice President Finance: Jerry Sparks- Self-employed

Vice President of Marketing – Keith Fechtman- Evens Time

Secretary/VP of Board Development-


Christina Callard- Mass Mutual Midwest

Iddo Porat- CMIT Solutions

Shana Gilbert – Youth Connections – (non-voting member)


Lifetime Trustees

Billy Bemis, Bemis Group

Bev Hart, Retired City/County official

John Reames, Attorney-at-Law

Pat Van Valer, Retired attorney


Our 2019 Corporate & Non-profit Sponsors